Are You Getting Enough Restorative Sleep For Optimal Functioning While You Are Awake?

The sleep cycle, 4 stages of sleep

Healthy sleep is necessary for an active and disease-free body. When you are sleep-deprived, your brain doesn’t function properly, impairing your ability to concentrate, think clearly, and process memories from short to long-term memory. Though most of us focus on how many hours of sleep we get in one night, sleep cycles, quality, and restorative sleep time are critical. While asleep, your total sleep is comprised of several rounds of four sleep stages. In a typical night, a person goes through four to six sleep cycles, not all the same length, but each stage lasts about an average of 90 minutes. Getting enough hours of high-quality sleep fosters attention and concentration, which are a prerequisite for most learning. Sleep also supports numerous other aspects of thinking including memory, problem-solving, creativity, emotional processing. Preventing getting adequate rest, short-term daytime cognitive impairment is common. Multiple studies have linked poor sleep with longer-term cognitive decline, including the development of dementia and Alzheimer’s dementia.  

The four sleep stages consist of: 

Sleep stages are important in allowing the brain and body to recuperate, an essential component to healthy emotional and physical health. 

Some factors that affect sleep:

To improve your sleep, create a soothing sleep environment, follow a consistent sleep schedule, avoid light, and noise exposure, and avoid alcohol.  

If you or a loved one are suffering from anxiety and depression, these factor into getting good sleep as well.  Contact Compassionate Psychiatric Services today to see how our alternative treatments might help you.

You Might Also Enjoy...

Test of Variables of Attention. What is It?

Where can you get it? And will it really help you? T.O.V.A.® is an FDA-cleared, computerized, and objective tool to measure attention and inhibitory control, by gender and for ages 4 to 80+.